starburst Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences BEARS Conference UC Berkeley
Student Technical Achievement in Research Series (STARS)

Advanced Program

To be held in conjunction with the
Berkeley EECS Annual Research Symposium (BEARS)

February 27, 2004
2:00pm 120A Bechtel Engineering Center

This year we will hold a student research track at the new Berkeley EECS Annual Research Symposium (BEARS), which will be attended by faculty, students, industry researchers, and select press. Student-authored papers were solicited in all areas of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences. An expedited conference review process was conducted by a program committee affiliated with the department.  The program is extremely selective, with eight papers chosen from a total of 38 very high quality submissions.  We hope you enjoy this small piece of the rich and varied research conducted by EECS graduate students.


Session I: Ron Fearing - Chair
2:00pm SRAM Leakage Suppression by Minimizing Standby Supply Voltage, Huifang Qin,  Yu Cao, Dejan Markovic, Andrei Vladimirescu, and Jan Rabaey.
2:20pm Variable Optical Buffer Using Slow Light in Semiconductor Nanostructures,  Pei-Cheng Ku, Connie Chang-Hasnain, Jungho Kim, and Shun-Lien Chuang.
2:40pm Unfolding and Refolding Planar Polygons, Hayley Iben, James O'Brien, Erik Demaine, and  Jason Cantrella.
3:00pm Towards Root Cause Analysis of Internet Routing Dynamics, Matthew Caesar, L.  Subramanian, and Randy Katz.
3:20-3:40pm Break
Session II: Eric Brewer - Chair
3:40pm Radiance Caching and Local Geometry Correction, Arikan Okan, David Forsyth, and James O'Brien.
4:00pm Faces and Names in the News, Tamara Miller,  Alexander Berg, Jaety Edwards, Michael Maire, Ryan White, Wee-Whye Teh, Erik Learned-Miller, and David Forsyth.
4:20pm An Architecture for Privacy-Sensitive Ubiquitous Computing, Jason Hong and James Landay.
4:40pm Location-Based Services for Low-Income Communities in the California Central Valley, Matthew Kam, Arianna Tibuzzi, and Xinyu Hua

Program Committee:


David Culler (Chair)
Peter Bartlett
Jerry Feldman
David Forsyth
Anthony Joseph
Andy Neureuther
Borivoje Nikolic
James O'Brien
Christos Papadimitriou
Kannan Ramchandran
Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli

For questions regarding this event, contact