Berkeley EECS Annual Research Symposium 2006 February 23, 2006
Electrical Enginnering and Computer Science College of Engineering, UC Berkeley










Things to Do in Berkeley

BEARS 2005
BEARS 2004

Speaker Biographies

John Canny

Attained B.Sc. and B.E. degrees from Aldelaide University. Upon graduation from his alma mater in 1981, John Canny went on to earn his S.M. from M.I.T. in 1983, and subsequently attained his Ph.D. also from M.I.T. in 1987. Since then, Canny has been a professor at U.C. Berkeley working in the Robotics Lab. Canny has been a prolific researcher in a very wide range of fields. His numerous publications include topics in Algebraic Programming, Logic Programming, Robotics, Motion Planning, Symbolic Computation, Computational Geometry, and Solid Modeling. He won the ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award in 1987 for his work on Silhouette Curves, as well as the David and Lucile Packard Foundation Fellowship in 1988 and the Presidential Young Investigator Award in 1989.

Marc Davis

Currently on leave from SIMS at the University of California at Berkeley where he directs Garage Cinema Research, and is founding director of Yahoo! Research Berkeley. Davis earned his B.A. in the College of Letters at Wesleyan University, his M.A. in Literary Theory and Philosophy at the University of Konstanz in Germany, and his Ph.D. in Media Arts and Sciences at the MITMedia Laboratory. He is responsible for the technical and creative vision and leadership for the Lab. Prof. Davis' work is focused on creating the technology and applications that will enable daily media consumers to become daily media producers. His research and teaching encompass the theory, design, and development of digital media systems for creating and using media metadata to automate media production, sharing, and reuse.

Chenming Calvin Hu

TSMC Distinguished Chair Professor of Microelectronics in Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at UC Berkeley. He received his B.S. degree from National Taiwan University and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the UC Berkeley, all in electrical engineering. He founded Celestry Design Technologies, an IC design software company that was acquired by Cadence Design Systems in 2003. Dr. Hu  is a member of the US National Academy of Engineering and Academia Sinica; a fellow of the IEEE and the Institute of Physics; and an Honorary Professor of the Chinese Academy of Science Microelectronics Institute, and  National Chiao Tung University.  He has received many awards, including the IEEE Jack A Morton Award, IEEE Solid State Circuits Award, and the Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award.

George Necula

Associate Professor in the Computer Science Department at the University of California, Berkeley. His research interests include programming languages, verification methods and security with an emphasis towards use of programming language and logic-based technologies for mobile-code security and for improving software quality. George Necula received his BS in 1993 from Polytechnic University of Bucharest in Romania and his PhD in Computer Science in 1998 from Carnegie Mellon University, where he developed the technique of Proof-Carrying Code. For this work he has received the Allen Newell Award for Research Excellence and a best-paper award at the Symposium on Operating System Design and Implementation. George Necula is an Okawa Fellow and a recipient of the NSF Career Award.

A. Richard Newton

Received his B. Eng. and M.Eng.Sci degrees from the University of Melbourne, Australia and his Ph.D. degree from UC Berkeley. He is currently Dean of the College of Engineering and the Roy W. Carlson Professor of Engineering at UC Berkeley. He has been actively involved as a researcher and teacher in the areas of design technology, electronic system architecture, and integrated circuit design. He has received a number of awards for his teaching and research, including Best Paper Awards at the two ACM/IEEE Design Automation Conferences, and the International Conference on Computer Design. Professor Newton serves on the Board of Trustees for the Anita Borg Institute for Women and Technology. He is a Member of the ACM, Fellow of the IEEE, and a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

David Patterson

Holds the Pardee Chair of Computer Science. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the current president and fellow of the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery), and a fellow of the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers). He led the design and implementation of RISC I, likely the first VLSI Reduced Instruction Set Computer. This research became the foundation of the SPARC architecture, used by Sun Microsystems and others. He was a leader, along with Randy Katz, of RAID, which led to reliable storage systems from many companies. Patterson shared the 1999 IEEE Reynold Johnson Information Storage Award with Randy Katz for the development of RAID and shared the 2000 IEEE von Neumann medal with John Hennessy for "creating a revolution in computer architecture through their exploration, popularization, and commercialization of architectural innovations."

Jan M. Rabaey

Received his EE and Ph.D. degrees in applied sciences from the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium , respectively in 1978 and 1983. In 1987, he joined the faculty of the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science department of the University of California, Berkeley , where he is now holds the Donald O. Pederson Distinguished Professorship. He was the Associate Chair (EE) of the EECS Dept. at Berkeley from 1999 till 2002, and is currently the scientific co-director of the Berkeley Wireless Research Center . His current research interests include the conception and implementation of next-generation integrated wireless systems. This includes the analysis and optimization of communication algorithms and networking protocols, the study of low-energy implementation architectures and circuits, and the supporting design automation environments.

David A. Wagner

Assistant Professor of Computer Science at the University of California, Berkeley and a well-known researcher in cryptography. Wagner received an A.B. in Mathematics from Princeton, and an M.S. and Ph.D. in Computer Science from Berkeley. His research interests are computer security, especially security of large-scale systems and networks; applications of static and dynamic program analysis to computer security; theory of cryptography; design and analysis of symmetric-key cryptosystems; operating systems, and theory. He is currently working on software security, wireless security, sensor network security, cryptography, and other topics. He has received the ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award, Sloan Research Fellowship, was selected as one of Popular Science’s “10 Hot Scientists,” and was named “Best Academic Researcher” by Information Security Magazine.