James H. Eaton Memorial Scholarship

The James Eaton Memorial Scholarship is awarded to EECS undergraduate students who have demonstrated a keen sense of creativity and inventiveness. The award is named in honor of James Eaton, a 1962 EE PhD, who spent a short period of time on the UC Berkeley EE faculty. He then spent 40 years directing research and pioneering technologies at IBM, making special accomplishments in the magnetic tape data storage areas. Late in his career, suffering from MS, he left the East Coast and returned to California where he pursued his interest in designing new products. He received an IBM Corporate Award in 2001 and the title of Master Inventor (with 24-25 patents) shortly before his death. James H. Eaton was known by all as an original thinker, coming up with practical, unique and patentable ideas.


  • 2022-2023 Hridhay Suresh
  • 2021-2022 Ryan Mei
  • 2020-2021 Sid Kaushik
  • 2019-2020 Priya Sundaresan
  • 2018-2019 Giscard Biamby
  • 2017-2018 James Smith
  • 2016-2017 Geun Ho Ahn
  • 2015-2016 Dibyo Debasish Majumdar, David Marn, Sean Zhu
  • 2014-2015 Gautam Gunjala, Jeong Seuk Kang, Nikita Kitaev, Erik Krogen, Niranjan Kumar, Nitish Padmanaban, Vaishaal Shankar, Nopphon Siranart, Sahaana Suri, Jingyan Wang
  • 2013-2014 Jodi Loo
  • 2012-2013 Michael Eggleston, Yue Lu
  • 2011-2012 Lingkai Kong
  • 2010-2011 Ji-Hoon Park
  • 2009-2010 Seng Oon Toh
  • 2008-2009 Renaldi Winoto
  • 2007-2008 Christopher Jones
  • 2006-2007 Subramaniam Venkatraman
  • 2005-2006 Wojciech Jacob Poppe