[edit data in My EECS Info]

"; } ?>


He received his B.A. from UC Berkeley in 1980, and an M.S. and Ph.D. from MIT in 1985 and 1989, respectively. He joined the EECS faculty in 1989 and is the founding Director of Intel Research, UC Berkeley and was Associate Chair of the EECS Department, 2010-2012 and Chair from 2012 through June 30, 2014. He won the Okawa Prize in 2013. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, an ACM Fellow, and an IEEE Fellow. He has been named one of Scientific American's Top 50 Researchers and the creator of one of MIT's Technology Review's 10 Technologies that Will Change the World. He was awarded the NSF Presidential Young Investigator and the Presidential Faculty Fellowship. His research addresses networks of small, embedded wireless devices, planetary-scale internet services, parallel computer architecture, parallel programming languages, and high performance communication. It includes TinyOS, Berkeley Motes, PlanetLab, Networks of Workstations (NOW), Internet services, Active Messages, Split-C, and the Threaded Abstract Machine (TAM).


  • 1989, Ph.D., MIT
  • 1985, M.S., MIT
  • 1980, B.A., U.C. Berkeley

Selected Publications

Awards, Memberships and Fellowships