• Internet architecture:

    Overlay architectures. Distributed hashing. Naming. Next generation network design. Peer to peer networking. Mobile and ad-hoc networking. Troubleshooting. Implications for energy efficiency.

  • Security:

    Malware detection. Secure routing. Testbeds for security applications. Operating systems security. Intrusion detection/prevention. Availability. Authentication. Botnets and worms.

  • Distributed Systems:

    Experimental testbeds. Distributed logging. Declarative networking.

  • Operating systems:

    OS for sensor networks. Monitoring OS behavior for malware detection. Performance analysis. Programming languages for systems. Power aware computing.

  • Network economics:

    Price of anarchy. Game theory.

  • Technology for developing regions:

  • Network measurement:

    Traffic characterization and modeling.

Research Centers




Faculty Awards

  • National Medal of Science: Richard M. Karp, 1996.
  • ACM A.M. Turing Award: David A. Patterson, 2017. Richard M. Karp, 1985.
  • ACM Prize in Computing: Eric Brewer, 2009.
  • SIAM John von Neumann Lecture Prize: Richard M. Karp, 1987.
  • Computers and Communications (C&C) Prize: Scott Shenker, 2015. David A. Patterson, 2004.
  • Silicon Valley Engineering Hall of Fame: Randy H. Katz, 2018. David A. Patterson, 2005.
  • Harvey Prize: Richard M. Karp, 1998.
  • Kyoto Prize: Richard M. Karp, 2008.
  • MacArthur Fellow: Dawn Song, 2010.
  • Okawa Prize: David E. Culler, 2013.
  • National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Member: Scott Shenker, 2019. David A. Patterson, 2006. Richard M. Karp, 1980.
  • National Academy of Engineering (NAE) Member: Ion Stoica, 2024. Scott Shenker, 2012. Eric Brewer, 2007. David E. Culler, 2005. Randy H. Katz, 2000. David A. Patterson, 1993. Richard M. Karp, 1992.
  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences Member: Eric Brewer, 2018. Scott Shenker, 2016. David A. Patterson, 2006. Randy H. Katz, 1990. Richard M. Karp, 1980.
  • Berkeley Citation: David E. Culler, 2021. David A. Patterson, 2016.
  • UC Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award: David A. Wagner, 2006. Randy H. Katz, 1992. Richard M. Karp, 1986. David A. Patterson, 1982.
  • Sloan Research Fellow: Raluca Ada Popa, 2018. Prabal Dutta, 2017. Michael Lustig, 2013. Sylvia Ratnasamy, 2012. Dawn Song, 2007. Ion Stoica, 2003. David A. Wagner, 2003. Joseph M. Hellerstein, 1998. Eric Brewer, 1997.

Related Courses