Control and Robotics at EECS is concerned with the general problem of modeling systems and machines, and then making them respond appropriately to inputs. Optimization and mathematical techniques play a key role, especially as systems of interest grow in scale. Control ranges from applications in semiconductor process control to hybrid and networked control to nonlinear and learning control, and includes interactions with faculty in Mechanical Engineering and Integrative Biology as well as between EE and CS. Robotics is interpreted broadly to include mobile autonomous systems from millimeter-sized mobile robots to 3 meter rotor span helicopters, fixed autonomous systems for assembly, as well as human augmentation capabilities such as telepresence, and virtual reality. Providing robots with image understanding capabilities is one of the key research areas, as well as using computer vision to assist humans.


  • Biological systems:

    Bio-mimetic robotics. Neuro-prosthetic systems. Computational motor control. Human-centered control. Man-machine systems. Computer vision. Active and real-time perception. Neuroengineering. Biological systems modeling. Systems biology.

Research Centers




Faculty Awards

  • ACM Prize in Computing: Pieter Abbeel, 2021.
  • MacArthur Fellow: Claire Tomlin, 2006.
  • National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Member: Jitendra Malik, 2015. Michael Jordan, 2010.
  • National Academy of Engineering (NAE) Member: Claire Tomlin, 2019. Jitendra Malik, 2011. Michael Jordan, 2010. S. Shankar Sastry, 2001. Alberto L. Sangiovanni-Vincentelli, 1998. Ruzena Bajcsy, 1997. Thomas F. Budinger, 1996.
  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences Member: Claire Tomlin, 2019. Jitendra Malik, 2013. Michael Jordan, 2010. Ruzena Bajcsy, 2007. S. Shankar Sastry, 2003.
  • Berkeley Citation: Ruzena Bajcsy, 2023. S. Shankar Sastry, 2018. Thomas F. Budinger, 2004.
  • UC Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award: Kameshwar Poolla, 1996. Alberto L. Sangiovanni-Vincentelli, 1981.
  • Sloan Research Fellow: Sergey Levine, 2019. Anca Dragan, 2018. Michael Lustig, 2013. Benjamin Recht, 2011. Pieter Abbeel, 2011. Jose M. Carmena, 2009. Sanjit A. Seshia, 2008. Martin Wainwright, 2005.

Related Courses