• Electromagnetics

    High frequency integrated circuit design, simulation, waveguides, and wireless channels.

  • Electronic Devices

    Integrated circuit devices, organic electronics, semiconductor technologies, and superconductive devices.

  • Micro/nano Fabrication

    Fabrication technologies for semiconductor, electromechanical, photonics, and other micrometer and nanometer-scale systems; advanced processing modules; integration of heterogeneous systems; process modeling and simulation; lithography; and advanced metrology and manufacturing systems.

  • Microelectromechanical Systems

    Electronic and biomedical applications, micro-robotics, resonators, sensors and actuators, and silicon structures.

  • Nanotechnology

    Carbon nanotubes, nanowires, quantum dots, DNA and other biomaterials, and programming their self-assembly.

  • Optoelectronics

    Lasers, light-emitting diodes, optical detectors, optical tweezers, optical communication, solar cells, Lidar.

  • Optics

    Optical design and engineering, ray and wave models for light propagation, aberration theory, interference and diffraction. Integrated and nonlinear optics.

  • Quantum Devices

    Integrated quantum devices and transducers. Superconducting, spin, and photonic quantum technologies.

  • Magnetic Resonance Imaging

    Signal formation and modeling, contrast generation, RF transmission and receiver array, RF Safety, peripheral instrumentation, and patient monitoring sensors.

Research Centers




Faculty Awards

  • National Medal of Technology and Innovation: Chenming Hu, 2016.
  • IEEE Medal of Honor: Chenming Hu, 2020.
  • Silicon Valley Engineering Hall of Fame: Tsu-Jae King Liu, 2018. Chenming Hu, 2017.
  • Harvey Prize: Eli Yablonovitch, 2011.
  • Okawa Prize: Constance Chang-Hasnain, 2018.
  • National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Member: Eli Yablonovitch, 2003.
  • National Academy of Engineering (NAE) Member: Constance Chang-Hasnain, 2018. Tsu-Jae King Liu, 2017. Eli Yablonovitch, 2003. Chenming Hu, 1996. Andrew R. Neureuther, 1995. Richard S. Muller, 1992.
  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences Member: Eli Yablonovitch, 2011.
  • Berkeley Citation: Chenming Hu, 2011. Andrew R. Neureuther, 2007. Richard S. Muller, 1994.
  • UC Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award: Chenming Hu, 1997. Kameshwar Poolla, 1996.
  • Sloan Research Fellow: Michael Lustig, 2013. Ali Javey, 2010. Constance Chang-Hasnain, 1994. Eli Yablonovitch, 1978.

Related Courses